Sadio Mane, Sergio Aguero and Hugo Lloris have been nominated for the 2019 Ballon d'Or

Staff Reporter

Premier League stars Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Hugo Lloris have been nominated for the 2019 Ballon d'Or.
Manchester City striker Aguero, his Liverpool counterpart Mane and the Tottenham goalkeeper Lloris were among the first five nominees revealed by France Football on Monday evening.
They were joined by Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong and Ajax's former Southampton schemer Dusan Tadic.
Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold have also been included in the 30-strong list, as have Barcelona keeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Ajax midfielder Donny van de Beek.
There is a place too for Paris St Germain's World Cup winner Kylian Mbappe.

Five-times winner Cristiano Ronaldo is also included on the list, as is his former Real Madrid team-mate Karim Benzema and current club colleague Matthijs de Ligt.
Liverpool pair Alisson Becker and Georginio Wijnaldum join fellow Champions League winner Mane among the candidates.
There was further recognition for the Anfield club too when defender Virgil Van Dijk and striker Roberto Firmino were added to the list.
They were included along with Manchester City midfielder Bernardo Silva, Spurs striker Son Heung-min and Bayern Munich's Poland international frontman Robert Lewandowski.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: