Cliftonville's Joe Gormley shares Golden Boot but doesn't make Irish League team of the season

Despite scoring 29 goals for Cliftonville, Joe Gormley didn't make the Irish League team of the season

CLIFTONVILLE’S JOE Gormley shared the Northern Ireland Football Awards’ golden boot with Linfield's Andy Waterworth after the pair hit 29 goals apiece – but there was still no place for the record-breaking Reds striker in the team of the season.

Seven players from champions Linfield were announced on the team while Adam Lecky of Ballymena United got the nod alongside Crusaders duo Paul Heatley and Jordan Forsythe.

Linfield’s central defender Jimm Callacher fought off stiff competion for the Danske Bank Player of the Year award from team-mate Jamie Mulgrew. Marty Donnelly, meanwhile, scooped the Championship Player of the Year award with a string of superb performances from newly promoted Larne who claimed six places in the team of the year.

Elsewhere, Crumlin Star, led by boss Paul Trainor, claimed the non-senior club of the year award following the Ardoyne club’s incredible treble of the Amateur League Premier title, Border Cup and the Intermediate Cup.

Danske Bank Player of the Year: Jimmy Callacher (Linfield)

Dream Spanish Homes Young Player of the Year: Kofi Balmer (Ballymena United)

BetMcLean Manager of the Year: David Healy (Linfield)

Uhlsport Premiership Team of the Year: Jonathan Tuffey (Glenavon), Chris Casement (Linfield), Jimmy Callacher (Linfield), Joshua Robinson (Linfield), Niall Quinn (Linfield), Jordan Stewart (Linfield), Jamie Mulgrew (Linfield), Jordan Forsythe (Crusaders), Paul Heatley (Crusaders), Andrew Waterworth (Linfield), Adam Lecky (Ballymena United)

Championship Player of the Year: Martin Donnelly (Larne)

Bluefin Sport Championship Team of the Year: Aaron Hogg (Carrick Rangers), Tomas Cosgrove (Larne), Caolan Loughran (Carrick Rangers), Ben Murdock (Dundela), Ben Tilney (Larne), Mark Surgenor (Carrick), Jeff Hughes (Larne), Faud Sule (Larne), Martin Donnelly (Larne), David McDaid (Larne), Jordan Hughes (Dundela)

Premier Intermediate League Player of the Year: Ryan McCready (Queen's University)

Beleek Premier Intermediate League Team of the Year: Declan Brown (Queen’s), Josh Corry (Queen’s), Kyle McVey (Tobermore), Jordan Campbell (Annagh), Ronan Young (Queen’s), Craig Taylor (Annagh), Daniel McIlhatton (Moyola Park), Niall Henderson (Annagh), Matthew Hughes (Queen’s), Stephen McCavitt (Banbridge), Ryan McCready (Queen’s).

Jimmy Dubois Non Senior Club: Crumlin Star

Reavey & Co. Solicitors International Personality of the Year: Craig Cathcart (Watford)

Electric Ireland Women's Football Personality of the Year: Billie Simpson (Cliftonville Ladies)

Jordan’s Gift Goal of the Season: Michael McLellan - Ards v Cliftonville (September 2018)

Golden Boot: Joe Gormley (Cliftonville) & Andrew Waterworth (Linfield) – 29 goals each

Ardtalla Wealth Management Hall of Fame: George Best

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: