Aidan Walsh marches on in Irish Elite boxing challenge

Monkstown counter-puncher Aidan Walsh (left)
Bernard O'Neill

THERE was drama – and a few standing counts – in the opening session of the 2019 Liffey Crane Hire National Elites ath the National Stadium in Dublin last night.

Commonwealth finalist Aidan Walsh advanced on a 4-1 split decision over Terry McEntee after a close three-rounder to set up Saturday’s welterweight showdown with defending champion, Kieran Molloy.

Christian Cekiso was impressive against Colm Murphy in the opening bout of the Championships and Michael Bustard, Brian Kennedy, Paul McCullagh, Kane Tucker and Gytis Lisinkas also advanced.

West Belfast man McCullagh (St John Bosco)  looked to be heading for the exit after taking a standing count in the second against Sean Crowley, but the big light-heavy bounced back to hand out a few standing counts of this own in the third.

Jude Gallagher won the first quarter-final of the session to set up a last-four clash with defending flyweight titlist Adam Hession on Monday.

“I felt I boxed very well and controlled the fight comfortably, especially for my first senior fight. That was my Elite debut and also my first without a head guard,” said Gallagher.


St John Bosco's Paul McCullagh (left) bounced back to blast his way to the next round


Michael Avetisian, who sustained a cut, Gerard Matthews and former European medallist Barry McReynolds and ex-champion George Bates progressed.

The Crumlin BC won two of the last three bouts on the card, courtesy of Jack Brady and John Joe Nevin.

But Galway heavyweight Patrick Corcoran denied the Dublin club a hat-trick against Jack Clarke on an evening when seven contests were decided on split decisions.

Boxing resumes tonight at 6pm.



The Holy Trinity camp celebrate after Barry McReynolds won through in the National Elite Boxing Championships in Dublin 


Liffey Crane National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday, November 15 (7pm)


57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) best Colm Murphy (St George's) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown, Antrim) beat Terry McEntee (DCU) 4-1
69kg Michael Bustard (Dockers) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Mary's & DF) beat Michael Frane (Clonard, Wexford) 5-0
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco, Belfast) beat Sean Crowley (Arklow) 4-1
81kg Kane Tucker (Emerald, Antrim) beat David Biscevis (St Saviours, OBA) 5-0
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) beat John McDonnell (Crumlin) 5-0


52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown, Dublin) 5-0
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity) beat Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart) beat Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown, Dublin) 4-1
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Paul's, Antrim) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
63kg George Bates (St Mary’s, Tallaght) beat Yannick Meseke (Olympic Galway) 5-0
75kg Jack Brady (Crumlin) beat Glory Carlos Lmuala (Maynooth) 4-1
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Keelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal)  3-2
91kg Patrick Corcoran (Olympic Galway) beat Jack Clarke (Crumlin) 4-1

Saturday, November 16

Q/Finals (6pm)

48kg Carol Coughlan (Monkstown, Dublin) v Shannon Sweeney (St Anne's)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) v Courtney Daly (Crumlin)
51kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) v Niamh Early (Ryston)
57kg Patrick Adamus (Drimnagh) v Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
57kg Thomas Casey (St Francis) v Connor Kerr (Monkstown, Antrim)
57kg Kane Marshall (Emerald, Antrim) v Sean Purcell (Enniskerry)
57kg JP Hale (Star) v Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) v Aidan Walsh (Monkstown, Antrim)
69kg Michael Kinsella (St Anthony's / St Patrick's) v Ryan O’Rourke (St Michaels, Dublin)
69kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) v Luke Maguire (Esker)
69kg Michael Bustard (Dockers) v Eugene McKeever (Holy Family, Drogheda)
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) v Brian Kennedy (St Mary's & DF)
81kg Peter Nosic (Brian Dillons) v Anthony Browne (St Michael's, Dublin)
81kg Tommy Hyde (St Michael's, Athy) v Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco, Belfast)
81kg Kane Tucker (Emerald, Antrim) v Emmett Brennan (Dublin Docklands)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) v Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles)
91+kg Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles) v Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi)
91+kg Thomas Carthy (Crumlin) v Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)
91+kg Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles) v Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)

Monday, November 18

S/finals (7pm)

49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown Dublin) v Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family GG)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) v Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
52kg Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) v Regan Buckley (St Theresa’s)
57kg Winner v Winner
57kg Winner v Winner
60kg Myles Casey (St Francis) v Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)
60kg Peter Alexandrut (Crumlin) v Brandon McCarthy (St Michael's, Athy)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) v Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart)
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Paul's, Antrim) v George Bates (St Mary’s, Tallaght)
69kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) v Jack Brady (Crumlin)
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) v Fearghus Quinn (Camlough)
81kg Winner v Winner
81kg Winner v Winner

Wednesday, November 20

S/Finals (7pm)

48kg Chloe Fleck (Lisburn) v Winner
48kg Winner V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG) v Winner
51kg Nycole Hayes (Togher) v Ceire Smith (Cavan)
54kg Shauna Blaney (Navan) v Sarah Haghighat (St Brigid's, Edenderry)
57kg Emma Agnew (Dealgan) v Dearbhla Rooney (Sean McDermott)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) v Gillian Duffy (St Mary's, Tallaght)
64kg Clodagh Greene (Crumlin) v Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Spartacus) W/O
81kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) W/O
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) v Patrick Corcoran (Olympic Galway)
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) v Daniel O’Brien (Defence Forces)
91+kg Winner v Winner
91+kg Winner v Winner



Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access