Time Out - March 28: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

HARTE-STOPPING STUFF: Tyrone manager Mickey Harte and his players celebrate their side’s last-gasp victory over Kerry which moved them closer to safety in 2010 NFL Division One
The Irish News Archive and PA

The Saturday March 28 2010:

Allianz National Football League Division One: Tyrone 1-11 Kerry 1-10

Crackling with tension and a frantic sense of desperation, the knock-out punch to win Saturday night's bruiser was, well, incredible.

Colm Cavanagh's final act, clutching for a last-seconds straw, in the fourth minute of stoppage time, to dive and fist in the winning goal finished it off, writes Eamonn O'Hara.

Great escapes are, by design, dramatic events, a stunning spectacle.

Tyrone's this night left several thousand of their supporters in a cheering, screaming in hug and kiss state of delirium.

Healy Park was a very, very happy place to be about 9pm.

It wasn't, of course, for Jack O'Connor and his players.

They felt as if they'd been mugged, robbed; in a sense, they were.

However, spin it any which way, Tyrone never stopped trying and Kerry paid for just one score from the 48th minute, a stupid red card for Aidan O'Mahony and the tactic of playing down the clock from 15 minutes out.

They will have their grumbles. They will be sick, for sure.

But, they had a five-point lead, the match in their pocket before O'Mahony's sending off, the win in the bag and they blew it.

Tyrone: P McConnell; D Carlin, Joe McMahon, C McCarron; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh (1-0); K Coney (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-2), P Harte; T McGuigan (0-3, 0-2 frees), M Penrose (0-3,0-2 frees), O Mulligan (0-2, 0-1 free).

Subs: P Jordan for McMenamin (h-t), B McGuigan for T McGuigan (52), Sean O'Neill for Coney (58).

Yellow Cards: C McCarron (30, 37), Joe McMahon (42), C Cavanagh (70).

Red Cards: C McCarron (37).

Kerry: B Kealy; P Reidy, T Griffin, T O'Sullivan; M O Se, A O'Mahony, K Young; S Scanlon, A Maher; D Moran (0-3, one free), Declan O'Sullivan (1-0), D Walsh (0-2); C Cooper (0-2, 0-1), K Donaghy (0-1), K O'Leary

Subs: Darren O'Sullivan (0-2) for O'Leary (21), D O'Callaghan for Walsh (48), B Sheehan for Maher (54), A O'Connell for Reidy (64).

Yellow Cards: Declan O'Sullivan (10), M O Se (15), Darren O'Sullivan (22), K Donaghy (27), A O'Mahony (44), C Cooper (52), T Griffin (60), D O'Callaghan (70).

Red Cards: A O'Mahony (64).

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh).

  • Steve Baddeley


    former European and Commonwealth champion, born 1961.

  • Philip Walton


    Irishman whose singles win secured Europe's 1995 Ryder Cup victory at Oak Hill in America, born 1962.

  • Steve Bull


    former Wolves and England striker, born 1965.

  • Nasser Hussain


    former England captain, born 1968.

  • Christopher Samba


    former Blackburn and QPR defender, born 1984.

  • Stan Wawrinka


    three-time grand slam winner from Switzerland, born 1985.

  • Steve Mandanda


    Marseille and France goalkeeper, born 1985.

  • Lukas Jutkiewicz


    Birmingham striker, born 1989.

  • Ekaterina Bobrova

    ice skating

    2014 Olympic champion figure skater from Russia, born 1990.

  • 1912

    Both boats in the annual University Boat Race capsized on the River Thames. Oxford won the re-run race but their boat sank again on the same day in 1925.

  • 1955

    In cricket, New Zealand were dismissed by England for just 26 runs in Auckland. The innings, New Zealand's second, lasted 27 overs and stands as the lowest completed in Test cricket.

  • 1998

    A Fulham fan was killed in a disturbance outside Gillingham's Priestfield Stadium after his team were beaten 2-0.

  • 2000

    The Football Association fined seven Leicester players and officials £75,500 plus £17,500 costs for "breathtaking carelessness" in distributing League Cup final tickets. Andy Impey received the biggest fine, in excess of £20,000.

  • 2004

    Sven-Goran Eriksson agreed a two-year extension to his England contract, taking him to 2008. He eventually left his post after the 2006 World Cup.

  • 2007

    Steve McClaren stormed out of a post-match press conference only two questions in after his England side struggled to defeat part-timers Andorra in a Euro 2008 qualifier in Barcelona.

  • 2009

    David Beckham came on as a second-half substitute for England in their friendly against Slovakia at Wembley, earning his 109th cap and surpassing Bobby Moore's record for an outfield player.

  • 2013

    England were reported to FIFA by anti-racism body FARE after fans sang abusive songs about Rio and Anton Ferdinand during the match against San Marino.

  • 2015

    Australia captain Michael Clarke announced he was retiring from one-day internationals after the following day's World Cup final against New Zealand. He went on to top score with 74 as Australia won the match by seven wickets.

  • 2018

    Australia captain Steve Smith and vice-captain David Warner were banned from international and domestic cricket for 12 months and Cameron Bancroft for nine months for their part in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa.

  • 2019

    Manchester United handed Ole Gunnar Solskjaer a three-year contract to make him their manager on a permanent basis.

  • Which former Argentina footballer's name is an anagram of "an adored amigo"?
  • How many countries are full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC)?
  • Which footballer has scored the most goals for Sweden?
  • What does TT stand for in the motorcycle event the Isle of Man TT?
  • Name two of the four cyclists to have won the Tour de France five times.
  • How high is the crossbar in rugby union? (a) 2.75m (b) 3m (c) 3.25m
  • Which former England defender started his club career at Wealdstone and had stints at Nottingham Forest, West Ham and Newcastle?
  • How many times did Down feature in the All-Ireland GAA Senior Football final in the 1960's: 1; 2; or 3?
  • In which sport does the goal measure 180cm by 120cm?
  • What nationality is pro boxing legend Manny Pacquiao?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Diego Maradona
  • 12
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Tourist Trophy
  • Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, Miguel Indurain
  • (b) 3m
  • Stuart Pearce
  • 3
  • Ice hockey
  • Filipino

Saturday, March 28


    Premier League Years 2014-15 - Sky Sports Premier League 0700


    How the 2011 ICC World Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Cricket 0800

  • GOLF

    2016 Open Championship Final Day - Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Golf 0600; How the 2006 Ryder Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Golf 2100

Sunday, March 29


    How the 2015 ICC World Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Cricket 0700, 2310

  • GOLF

    2018 Ryder Cup Singles - Sky Sports Golf 1100

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access