Time Out - March 25: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

Antrim’s James Lavery closes in on Monaghan’s Dermot Malone during the Ulster Under 21 Football Championship quarter-final at Casement Park, Belfast on Wednesday March 24 2010. Picture by Declan Roughan.
The Irish News Archive and PA

The Irish News - Thursday March 25 2010:

Ulster U21 Football Championship quarter-final: Antrim 2-6 Monaghan 2-12

Clinically-taken goals early in both halves saw Monaghan ease to a six-point win at Casement Park last night.

It was a deserved win for the visitors against an Antrim outfit which battled hard and landed the last two scores of the game, but were unable to cope with the pace and precision of a well-drilled Farney side for which Donal Hahessy, David Miller and Kieran Hughes (below) stood out.

The Saffrons started the game well, going ahead but the visitors took the lead when senior panellist Kieran Hughes surged through from midfield and smacked a low shot past Peter Graham.

Hopes of a second half comeback were quickly dashed when David Hughes broke to restore Monaghan’s five-point cushion a minute into the second half.

Monaghan put the result beyond doubt with three points on the spin from McGuinness, Malone and substitute Daniel McNally.

Michael Armstrong’s point and a late goal from Martin Kane served only to add a little respectability to the final scoreboard for the Saffrons.

Antrim: P Graham; D McAlernon, D McCann, C McVeigh; P Gallagher, J Lavery, S Finch; M Magowan, B Rushe; P McCann, F Burke (0-1), M Armstrong (0-1); C Fleming (1-3, 0-1 penalty, 0-3 frees), M Kelly, B Neeson (0-1)

Subs: M McAleese for Gallagher (24), E McNeill for B Rushe (35), M Graham for M Magowan (35), P Johnston for C McVeigh (40), M Kane (1-0) for F Burke (50)

Monaghan: E McArdle; M Reilly, D Daly, C Galligan; C Walshe, K Duffy, D Hughes (0-1); C Greenan, K Hughes (1-0); D Hahessy (0-4, 0-1 free), D Malone (0-1), B McArdle; C McGuinness (0-3, 0-2 frees), P Tavey (0-1), D Miller (1-1)

Subs: P O’Hara for B McArdle (46), G McArdle for Tavey (50), D McNally (0-1) for D Malone (50), K Boyce for E McArdle (52), S Dooney for C Walshe (57)

Referee: B Cassidy (Derry)

  • Christina Boxer-Cahill


    first British woman to run 800 metres in under two minutes, born 1957.

  • Rene Meulensteen


    former Fulham manager, now assistant manager of the Australia national team, born 1964.

  • Serge Betsen

    rugby union

    former Biarritz, Wasps and France flanker, born 1974.

  • Wladimir Klitschko


    Ukrainian former WBA, IBF, IBO and WBO heavyweight champion, born 1976.

  • Liam Messam

    rugby union

    New Zealand flanker, born 1984.

  • Scott Sinclair


    Preston forward, formerly with Celtic and Swansea, born 1989.

  • Jadon Sancho


    Borussia Dortmund and England forward, born 2000.

  • 1876

    Wales played their first international football match, losing 4-0 to Scotland in Glasgow.

  • 1972

    Future Olympic middle-distance medallists Steve Ovett and Sebastian Coe competed in the British Schools Cross-Country Championships. Ovett was second, Coe 10th.

  • 1992

    Aldershot FC lost their fight for survival and folded with debts of £1.2million.

  • 1999

    UEFA fined Sir Alex Ferguson £2,200 for "unnecessary provocation" following "anti-Italian jibes" towards Champions League opponents Inter Milan.

  • 2006

    Kimberly Wall, Nicola Sanders, Natasha Danvers-Smith and Christine Ohuruogu finished first in the Commonwealth Games women's 4x400metres relay final, before being disqualified for incorrect lane positioning.

  • 2010

    Sir Chris Hoy won his 10th world title as he triumphed in the Keirin at the Track World Cycling Championships in Copenhagen.

  • 2012

    Fernando Alonso won the rain-hit Malaysian Formula One Grand Prix, with Sergio Perez second and Lewis Hamilton third.

  • 2013

    Tiger Woods returned to the world number one ranking with a two-shot victory at the Arnold Palmer International.

  • 2015

    The IAAF appealed to the Court of Arbitration for Sport over "selective disqualification of results" applied by the Russian Anti-Doping Agency (RUSADA) in punishing six race walkers who failed drug tests.

  • 2017

    Anthony Crolla failed in his bid to regain the WBA lightweight title after losing to Jorge Linares via a unanimous points decision in their rematch in Manchester.

  • 2018

    Cameron Bancroft was caught ball-tampering during Australia's third Test defeat against South Africa in Cape Town. Captain Steve Smith was initially banned for one Test and fined 100 per cent of his match fee and Bancroft handed three demerit points. However, Cricket Australia took a harder line on the issue and later banned Smith and vice-captain David Warner from all cricket for a year and Bancroft for nine months.

  • How many points is a goal worth in Gaelic games?
  • In which Olympic combat sport is the all-time medal table led by Italy, followed by France and Hungary?
  • Who won Euro 1992 despite not qualifying for the tournament?
  • Footballer Graeme Le Saux is from which Channel Island?
  • Which golf term means a score of two under par at a particular hole?
  • Men's singles were played at Wimbledon from 1877, how many years later were women's singles events introduced? (a) 7 (b) 14 (c) 21
  • What number do you get if you multiply the highest three-dart checkout and the number worn by Wolves goalkeeper Rui Patricio?
  • Which German racetrack did Sir Jackie Stewart call 'The Green Hell'?
  • At which football World Cup were red and yellow cards first introduced?
  • Belgium won its first World Championship in 2018 after beating the Netherlands in a penalty shoot-out in which 11-a-side game?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Three
  • Fencing
  • Denmark
  • Jersey
  • Eagle
  • (a) 7
  • 1870 (170 x 11)
  • Nurburgring
  • Mexico 1970
  • Field hockey.

Wednesday, March 25


    EFL Cup Final 2014: Manchester City v Sunderland - Sky Sports Football 0500; Premier League Years 2006-07 - Sky Sports Premier League 1000; Premier League Years 2007-08 - Sky Sports Premier League 1300; Euro 2020 Qualifiers Recap: Northern Ireland - Sky Sports Football 1300; Euro 2020 Qualifiers Recap: Scotland - Sky Sports Football 1800; Premier League review - BT Sport 1 1200-1600.


    ICC Women's World Cup Final 2017 - Sky Sports Cricket 0300; 2019 T20 Blast Final: Worcestershire v Essex - Sky Sports Cricket 1800; Ashes Classics - BT Sport 3 1500-1730.


    2016 Aviva Premiership final: Saracens v Exeter - BT Sport 1300.

  • GOLF

    How the 1999 Ryder Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Golf 2130.


    F1, 2019 Austrian Grand Prix - Sky Sports F1 1935.

Thursday, March 26


    EFL Cup Final 2015: Chelsea v Tottenham - Sky Sports Football 0500; Premier League Years 2008-09 - Sky Sports Premier League 0100; Premier League Years 2009-10 - Sky Sports Premier League 1000; Euro 2020 Qualifiers Recap: Wales - Sky Sports Football 1300; Euro 2020 Qualifiers Recap: Northern Ireland - Sky Sports Football 1800; Premier League review - BT Sport 1 1200-1600.


    How the 2003 ICC World Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Cricket - 0700 and 2300; Ashes Classics - BT Sport 3 1500-1730.


    New Zealand v British & Irish Lions: Third test 2017 - Sky Sports Main Event 0100; European Rugby top 10 games of the season - BT Sport 3 1200-1500,

  • GOLF

    Tour Championship 2018 Final Round - Sky Sports Golf 1030; How the 2002 Ryder Cup Was Won - Sky Sports Golf 2000


    F1, 2019 British Grand Prix - Sky Sports F1 - 1905


    NFL, 2020 Super Bowl Highlights - Sky Sports Main Event 0200.


    NBA, LA Lakers v Utah Jazz 2016 (Kobe Bryant's final game) - Sky Sports Main Event 0400


    Premier League, full season so far - Sky Sports Action from 0830

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access