Time Out - February 24: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

USA's Floyd Mayweather catches England's Ricky Hatton (left) during the WBC welterweight title fight at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, Las Vegas, USA
The Irish News Archive and PA

Tyson Fury lands a right to Deontay Wilder during the WBC heavyweight championship boxing title match on Saturday, February 22 2020, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/Isaac Brekken)

  • Denis Law


    former Scotland forward who played for both Manchester United and City, born 1940.

  • Alain Prost

    motor racing

    French four-time world Formula One champion, born 1955.

  • Neil Sullivan


    former Wimbledon, Doncaster and Scotland goalkeeper, born 1970.

  • Pedro De La Rosa

    motor racing

    Spanish former Formula One driver who raced for Jaguar, Arrows, Sauber and HRT, born 1971.

  • Floyd Mayweather Jr


    American who retired undefeated and won multiple world titles, born 1977.

  • Lleyton Hewitt


    Australian former world number one and Wimbledon champion in 2002, born 1981.

  • Mohammad Sami


    former Pakistan fast bowler, born 1981.

  • Ryan Fraser


    Scotland and Bournemouth winger, born 1994.

  • 1968

    Hampden Park drew a crowd of 134,461 for the European Championship qualifier between Scotland and England, a record for the competition.

  • 1993

    England's World Cup-winning captain Bobby Moore died of cancer at the age of 51. The West Ham and Fulham defender led England 90 times and won 108 caps.

  • 2004

    Dwain Chambers was banned for two years by UK Athletics after being found guilty of failing a drugs test.

  • 2006

    Chelsea condemned death threats made towards referee Terje Hauge on fans' internet forums in the wake of their controversial Champions League defeat against Barcelona. Norwegian referee Hauge sent off Blues defender Asier Del Horno following a challenge on Lionel Messi.

  • 2010

    Sachin Tendulkar broke the record for the highest individual score in a one-day international innings, scoring 200 not out against South Africa to pass Charles Coventry and Saeed Anwar's 194.

  • 2013

    Swansea beat Bradford 5-0 to win the League Cup at Wembley.

  • 2014

    Crystal Palace midfielder Jason Puncheon was charged by the Football Association following a series of tweets in reaction to criticism of his penalty miss at Tottenham by former Palace boss Neil Warnock. Puncheon was later fined £15,000 by the FA.

  • 2015

    Chris Gayle became the first person to score a double century in a World Cup match as he struck 16 sixes in an innings of 215 in West Indies' victory over Zimbabwe.

  • 2016

    Hull KR sacked head coach Chris Chester just three matches into the Super League season.

  • Which Irish soccer club used to play its home games at Grosvenor Park, Belfast?
  • Who joked that he would not wash his clothes after hugging Lionel Messi and setting up one of the Argentinian's four goals against Eibar?
  • How many rounds did Tyson Fury take to beat Deontay Wilder and claim the heavyweight title?
  • Mashies and niblicks are types of what?
  • Name the Ulster camogie side due to feature in the All-Ireland Senior Club final this Sunday, March 1 2020?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Distillery
  • Martin Braithwaite
  • Seven
  • Golf clubs
  • Slaughtneil

Monday, February 24


    Premier League, Liverpool v West Ham - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Premier League 1900; Bundesliga, Eintracht Frankfurt v Union Berlin - BT Sport 1 1915.


    Women's ICC World T20, Australia v Sri Lanka - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Cricket 0630; India v Bangladesh - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Cricket 1030; Test, New Zealand v India - Sky Sports Cricket 2225, Sky Sports Main Event 2300.


    Tour of UAE - Eurosport 1 1045.


    Players Championship - ITV4 1645.

Tuesday, February 25


    Champions League, Chelsea v Bayern Munich - BT Sport 2 1900; Championship, Cardiff v Nottm Forest - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Football 1900.


    Women's ICC World T20, England v Thailand - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Cricket 0330 (Wed).


    Tour of UAE - Eurosport 1 1045.


    Players Championship - ITV4 1245, 1845.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access