Time Out - February 21: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

Dinny Cahill returned to the Antrim hurling hot-seat for the 2010 National League campaign Picture by Séamus Loughran
Padraig O Meiscill

Manchester City star Riyad Mahrez is 29 today


On This Day, February 20 2010: Dinny Cahill returns to Antrim helm with win

Allianz National Hurling League Division Two: Antrim 1-11 Carlow 2-7

HANDS buried in his pockets and wearing a fetching blue monkey hat to keep the biting cold at bay, Dinny Cahill rocked evenly on his heels along the sidelines yesterday afternoon.

It was as if he’d never been away. It’s roughly five years since the man from Tipp last donned the luminous yellow bainisteoir bib for Antrim. There were no clenched fists of celebration or hearty handshakes with his backroom team at the end of yesterday’s one-point victory over gutsy Carlow at Casement Park.

For Dinny Cahill was never a man to get over-excited about anything in February. For him, League hurling is and always will be a glorified puck in the park. Of course, he’s an entirely different animal when the ground becomes firmer and the days stretch into long, balmy evenings.

After a quick television interview on the pitch, Dinny stopped to shake hands and chat to a few old faces from the northern press. So, Dinny, glad to be back?

“I’m delighted to be back now that I’ve taken the job,” he said.

“I’m delighted that the League has started again and that’s what it’s all about. Everyone loves competition and this is the competition the players have to get themselves ready for with the sights on the Championship.”

Five years, Dinny. Does it feel that long since you last stood in Casement Park?

With a beaming smile, he replied: “These players were children the last timeIwas here and now they’re adults. It’s scary alright. It just means I’m near pension age!”

  • Leroy Burrell


    American sprinter who twice broke the 100m world record, born 1967.

  • Michael Slater


    former Australia opener who played in 74 Tests before retiring in 2001, born 1970.

  • Ivan Campo


    Former Real Madrid, Bolton and Spain defender, born 1974.

  • Pascal Chimbonda


    Former Wigan, Tottenham and France full-back, born 1979.

  • Georgios Samaras


    Former Greece and Celtic striker, born 1985.

  • Matthias De Zordo


    German world javelin champion, born 1988.

  • Federico Fernandez


    Newcastle defender, born 1989.

  • Riyad Mahrez


    Manchester City and Algeria winger, PFA footballer of the year in 2016, born 1991.

  • Phil Jones


    Manchester United and England defender, born 1992.

  • Davy Klaassen


    Dutch midfielder for Werder Bremen, born 1993.

  • 1958

    Duncan Edwards, one of the best-known members of the famous 'Busby Babes' Manchester United team, died in hospital at the age of 21 following the Munich air crash on February 6.

  • 1988

    Geet Sethi, playing in the Indian national snooker championship, became the first amateur to register an official maximum 147 break in a tournament.

  • 2004

    Wales, Leeds and Juventus great John Charles died, aged 72.

  • 2006

    Thierry Henry scored a stunning solo goal to clinch a 1-0 Champions League win for Arsenal away to Real Madrid - the first victory for an English club at the Bernabeu.

  • 2007

    The All-England Club announced men and women were to receive equal prize money at Wimbledon for the first time.

  • 2012

    Manchester City striker Carlos Tevez apologised "sincerely and unreservedly" for his conduct after a long dispute with the club, and accepted a club fine of six weeks' wages for gross misconduct. The move allowed him to revive his City career.

  • 2014

    Wayne Rooney signed a new five-and-a-half-year contract at Manchester United.

  • 2016

    Leeds Rhinos lost the World Club Challenge 38-4 to North Queensland Cowboys as Australian clubs completed a whitewash of their Super League counterparts for the second successive year in the World Club Series.

  • 2017

    Sutton reserve goalkeeper Wayne Shaw resigned from the club after eating a pie in the dugout during Monday's FA Cup defeat to Arsenal. A bookmaker had offered odds on him to do so.

  • How many National Football League titles did Henry Downey win as a player with Derry?
  • In 2009, Sunderland defeated Liverpool 1-0 after Darren Bent's decisive goal deflected off what object?
  • Who is the only tennis player in history to win singles titles at a Grand Slam, Olympic Games, a Masters 1000 event and the year-end championships in the same calendar year?
  • In what year was Belfast’s Casement Park officially opened?
  • Who was the first Briton to win the Tour de France?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Four
  • A beach ball
  • Andy Murray (2016)
  • 1953
  • Bradley Wiggins (2012)

Friday, February 21


    Women's World T20, Australia v India - Sky Sports Cricket 0730 and Sky Sports Main Event 0800; First T20 international, South Africa v Australia - Sky Sports Cricket 1555 and Sky Sports Main Event 1600; First Test, New Zealand v India - Sky Sports Cricket 2225 and Sky Sports Main Event 2230.


    Championship, Derby v Fulham - Sky Sports Main Event 1930; Scottish Premiership, St Mirren v Hearts - BT Sport 2 1915; A-League, Wellington Phoenix v Western United - BT Sport 1 0615; Western Sydney Wanderers v Adelaide United - BT Sport 1 0830.

  • GOLF

    World Golf Championships, The Mexico Championship - Sky Sports Golf 1700 and Sky Sports Main Event 1900.


    Formula One, day three of testing - Sky Sports F1 0900.


    Premiership, Sale v Leicester - BT Sport 1 1900; PRO14, Opsreys v Leinster - eir Sport 1 1900; Super Rugby, Crusaders v Highlanders - Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Action 0600; Rebels v Sharks - Sky Sports Action 0340 (Sat)


    Super League, Castleford v Wakefield - Sky Sports Arena 1900.


    Snooker Shoot-Out - Eurosport 1 1245 and 1845.


    Tour of Andalusia - Eurosport 2 1400; Tour of Algarve - Eurosport 2 1545.

Saturday, February 22


    Premier League, Chelsea v Tottenham - BT Sport 1 1200; Leicester v Manchester City - Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Premier League 1700; Championship, Brentford v Blackburn - Sky Sports Main Event 1200; A-League, Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory - BT Sport 2 0600; Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory - BT Sport 2 0830; National League, Sutton v Barrow - BT Sport 1 1700.


    Six Nations, Italy v Scotland - ITV 1325, Wales v France - BBC One 1600; Super Rugby, Chiefs v Brumbies - Sky Sports Action 0600, Reds v Sunwolves - Sky Sports Action 0810, Stormers v Jaguares - Sky Sports Action 1300, Bulls v Blues - Sky Sports Action 1510.


    WBC heavyweight title bout, Deontay Wilder v Tyson Fury - BT Sport Box Office TBC.


    Women's World T20, West Indies v Thailand - Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Cricket 0600; New Zealand v Sri Lanka - Sky Sports Cricket 1030; First Test, New Zealand v India - Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event 2225.

  • GOLF

    World Golf Championships, The Mexico Championship - Sky Sports Golf 1700; LPGA, Honda LPGA Thailand - Sky Sports Golf 0630.


    World Club Challenge, St Helens v Sydney Roosters - Sky Sports Arena 1900 and Sky Sports Main Event 1945.


    Live racing - ITV4 1330.


    Snooker Shoot-Out - Eurosport 1 1245 and 1845.


    Tour of Andalusia - Eurosport 2 1500; Tour of Algarve - Eurosport 2 1545.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access