Time Out - February 17: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

UUJ’s Arron Graffin gets off a pass during a 2010 Fitzgibbon Cup defeat by University Limerick
The Irish News Archive and PA

Wednesday February 17 2010: Fitzgibbon Cup: University Limerick 3-18 UU Jordanstown 3-7

University Limerick withstood a late Jordanstown fightback to claim an 11-point win and finish on top spot in Group C of the Ulster Bank Fitzgibbon Cup at Ros Glas, Monasterevin yesterday.

UUJ’s only scorer, Neil McManus, failed to give up, as the Cushendall man bagged two goals inside two minutes late on, but it wasn’t enough to put his side into their first ever Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final.

UUJ may have only arrived a half an hour before throw-in, but showed no ill-effects in the opening stages as they matched their Limerick counterparts well.

McManus may have been to the fore for the Ulster outfit, but Arron Graffin, Simon McCrory and Kevin Sheerin were among those who tried hard.

UUJ ’keeper Chris O’Connell pulled off two fine saves from Shane Dooley shots in the second-half but despite Jordanstown’s late rally, helped in no small part by the deadly accuracy and precision of McManus, UL held out for a quarter-final berth against UCC.

UL: T Lowry (Tipperary); P Stapleton (Tipperary), M Malone (Kilkenny), M Verney (Offaly); M Walsh (Kilkenny, 0-1), J Devane (Tipperary), D Hayden (Offaly); S Hickey (Limerick), M Whelan (Laois); N Ó Murchadha (Waterford, 0-2), T Connors (Waterford), D Burke (Galway, 1-6, 0-3fs); A Quinn (Clare, 0-1), M Ruth (Kilkenny, 1-2), S Dooley (Offaly, 1-3).

Subs: R O’Dwyer (Tipperary) for Connors (ht); B Carroll (Offaly, 0-1) for Ó Murchadha (ht); L Ryan (Kilkenny) for Devane (40); M Heffernan (Tipperary, 0-1) for Quinn (44); J Brennan (Kilkenny, 0-1) for Ruth (54).

UUJ: C O’Connell (Antrim); M Burke (Antrim), S Henry (Derry), K Maxwell (Down); A Graffan (Antrim), N McCauley (Antrim), S McRory (Antrim); S McNicholl (Derry), D Hamill (Antrim); P McGlade (Antrim), N McManus (Antrim) (3-7, 2-3fs, 0-1 65), B Ennis (Down); P Maguire (Antrim), K Sheerin (Antrim), P Henry (Derry).

Subs: J Hughes (Down) for Burke (42); R Mulqueen (Clare) for P Henry (47); T McAllister (Antrim) for Maxwell (55).

Referee:Ciaran Groome (Offaly)

  • Michael Jordan


    American superstar widely considered the sport's greatest player, born 1963.

  • Tony Underwood

    rugby union

    former England winger, born 1969.

  • Julian Golding


    Britain's former Commonwealth 200 metres champion, born 1975.

  • Adriano


    Former Brazil and Inter Milan striker, born 1982.

  • AB De Villiers


    South Africa batsman, scorer of the fastest ODI century, born 1984.

  • Rebecca Adlington


    Britain's double gold medallist from the Beijing Olympics, born 1989.

  • Marc Marquez


    Spain's six-time MotoGP World Championship winner, born 1993.

  • 1968

    Jean-Claude Killy of France, one of the greatest skiers of all time, won his third gold medal at the Winter Olympics in Grenoble. Victorious in the downhill, the giant slalom and the slalom, he equalled Toni Sailer's record of winning three gold medals at one Games.

  • 1993

    David Platt scored four goals in England's World Cup qualifying win against San Marino and missed a penalty that would have given him a share in the England record of five.

  • 1999

    Fulham boss Kevin Keegan agreed to take charge of the England team for four games. He eventually became manager on a permanent basis.

  • 2008

    Andy Murray claimed his fifth ATP Tour title, beating Croatia's Mario Ancic 6-3 6-4 in the Open 13 final in Marseille.

  • 2012

    Portsmouth were placed into administration for a second time in two years. The south-coast club exited administration in April 2013 and announced they were debt-free in September 2014, 18 months after the Pompey Supporters' Trust took charge.

  • 2012

    Mervyn Westfield, the first county cricketer in England to be prosecuted for spot-fixing, was sentenced to four months in prison.

  • 2014

    Great Britain and England rugby league international Sam Burgess agreed to join Aviva Premiership side Bath on a three-year deal.

  • 2018

    Lizzy Yarnold won Great Britain's first gold medal of the Pyeongchang Olympics when she successfully defended her skeleton title with Laura Deas taking bronze in the same event.

  • What is Sunderland FC's nickname?
  • What is the name of Wexford GAA's county ground?
  • How many teams take part in the group stage of the UEFA Europa League?
  • David Beckham is part-owner of which new MLS franchise?
  • Who won the Genesis Invitational title in 2019?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • The Black Cats
  • Chadwicks Wexford Park
  • 48
  • Inter Miami CF
  • JB Holmes

Monday, February 17


    Premier League, Chelsea v Manchester United - Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Premier League 1900; 2. Bundesliga, Bochum v Stuttgart - BT Sport 1 1930.

Tuesday, February 18


    Champions League, Atletico Madrid v Liverpool - BT Sport 2 1900; Trophy semi-final, Portsmouth v Exeter - Sky Sports Main Event 1930.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access