Time Out - January 28: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

Ronan Sexton of Down is challenged by Donegal’s Kevin Cassidy during the 2010 Dr McKenna Cup semi-final in Brewster Park, Enniskillen
The Irish News Archive and PA

The Irish News - January 28 2010: Donegal burst Down's bubble to set up final clash with on-fire Tyrone

Dr McKenna cup semi-finals: Donegal 1-13 Down 1-12; Tyrone 1-20 Fermanagh 1-8

A superb third quarter spurred Donegal to a thoroughly-deserved victory over Down in a frenetic finish at Brewster Park last night.

Seven quick-fire points in that period were the basis for this win as old heads Colm McFadden and Kevin Cassidy exposed some glaring deficiencies in the Mourne defence.

And Adrian Hanlon showed some real leadership qualities for the winners by hitting four superb points.

Wee James McCartan's charisma and the corporate efficiency of his back-room team have been as good as a 16th man this season.

Add in the presence of Martin Clarke, Paul McComiskey and Brendan Coulter and it's a winner – if you have a defence.

Opponents Donegal were like Hamlet without the prince, minus the exam-tied Michael Murphy and Darragh Gallagher (chest injury).

Donegal: L McFadden, J Keaney, N McGee, P McDaid, E Wade, F McGlynn, K Cassidy (0-1), F McNulty, N Gallagher, E Kelly (1-0), D Walsh, L McLoone (0-1), A Hanlon (0-3), C McFadden (0-6 (3f,1'45)), G Concarr (0-2 (2f));

Subs: P Durcan for L McFadden (ht), C Dunne for N Gallagher (53), R Wherity for G Concarr (56)

Yellow cards: K Cassidy(18)

Down: B McVeigh, S Toner, C Garvey,MCole, S Parr, B McArdle, K Duffin, P Fitzpatrick, C King, D Gordon (0-1), M Poland, R Murtagh (0-1), P McComskey (1-4f), J Clarke (0-3) R Sexton

Subs: D Hughes (0-1) for J Clarke (26, blood sub), A Rodgers for P Ftzpatrick (45), S Kearney for S Toner (45), D Hughes (0-1) for J Parr (45), M Clarke(0-2, 1f) for M Poland (46), B Coulter for R Sexton (49)

Referee: P Hughes (Armagh)

  • Nick Price


    Zimbabwean who won both the Open and USPGA Championship in 1994, born 1957.

  • David Lawrence


    former England fast bowler whose career was ended prematurely by injury, born 1964.

  • Dave McPherson


    former Rangers, Hearts and Scotland defender, born 1964.

  • Mark Regan

    rugby union

    former England and British and Irish Lions hooker, part of the 2003 World Cup-winning squad, born 1972.

  • Takuma Sato

    motor racing

    former Formula One driver from Japan, now driving in the IndyCar series, born 1977.

  • Gianluigi Buffon


    World Cup-winning Italy and Juventus goalkeeper, born 1978.

  • Jamie Carragher


    former Liverpool and England defender, born 1978.

  • Papa Bouba Diop


    former Fulham, Portsmouth, West Ham and Senegal midfielder, born 1978.

  • Jessica Ennis-Hill


    London 2012 Olympic heptathlon champion, born 1986.

  • Asad Shafiq


    Pakistan batsman and Test vice-captain, born 1986.

  • 1911

    Henri Rougier won the first Monte Carlo Rally, driving a Turcat-Mery.

  • 1990

    In one of the most one-sided - and, at the time, record-scoring - of Super Bowls, the San Francisco 49ers beat the Denver Broncos 55-10 in New Orleans. 49ers quarterback Joe Montana was named Super Bowl Most Valuable Player for a record third time.

  • 2002

    The Prost Formula One team, owned by former world champion Alain Prost, were put into liquidation by a French court.

  • 2004

    Manager Sir Alex Ferguson signed a one-year rolling contract with Manchester United, to commence in July 2005. He remained in his post until the end of the 2012-13 season.

  • 2005

    Newcastle agreed a fee of ?6million with Birmingham for striker Craig Bellamy. However, rather than move to Birmingham, Bellamy left Newcastle to join Celtic on loan three days later.

  • 2007

    Roger Federer won his third Australian Open men's singles title by beating Chilean Fernando Gonzalez 7-6 (7/2) 6-4 6-4.

  • 2009

    Colin Montgomerie was appointed captain of the European team for the 2010 Ryder Cup.

  • 2011

    Liverpool agreed a fee with Ajax for Uruguay striker Luis Suarez.

  • 2012

    The Football Association cancelled the traditional pre-match handshakes between Chelsea and QPR in light of the racism row surrounding John Terry and Anton Ferdinand.

  • 2016

    Greg Dyke announced he would step down as Football Association chairman in July after admitting he faced a fight to force through reforms for the governing body.

  • 2017

    Serena Williams won the Australian Open women's singles title with a 6-4 6-4 victory over her sister Venus in the final for her 23rd grand slam title, an Open era record, beating Steffi Graf's mark of 22.

  • Who was Sunderland's manager when they were relegated from the Championship to League One in 2018?
  • Who won last year's Australian Open men's singles final?
  • Who is the current manager of the Antrim GAA Senior Football team?
  • In baseball, who are the reigning World Series champions?
  • Name the five clubs Brian Clough managed?
  • The Panthers are which UK city's ice hockey team?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Chris Coleman
  • Novak Djokovic
  • Lenny Harbinson
  • Washington Nationals
  • Hartlepool, Derby, Brighton, Leeds and Nottingham Forest
  • Nottingham

Tuesday, January 28


    Fourth Test, South Africa v England - Sky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Cricket 0730.


    Australian Open - Eurosport 1 0600, 0800, 2355.


    Carabao Cup, Aston Villa v Leicester - Sky Sports Main Event 1900; Coppa Italia, Torino v AC Milan - BT Sport 1 1930.


    Six Day Berlin, day six - Eurosport 2 2045.

Wednesday, January 29


    Australian Open - Eurosport 1 0830, 2355, 0255 (Thurs) and 0515 (Thurs).


    Carabao Cup, Manchester City v Manchester United - Sky Sports Main Event 1900; Ladbrokes Premiership, St Johnstone v Celtic - BT Sport 1 1915.


    Third T20, New Zealand v India - Sky Sports Main Event 0700 & Sky Sports Cricket 0655; Under-19 World Cup, Quarter-final - Sky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Cricket 1030.


    German Masters - Eurosport 2 1300 and 1900.


    NBA, Portland Trail Blazers v Houston Rockets - Sky Sports Main Event 0300 (Thurs).

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access