On This Day - Feb 21 2009: Stephen Griffin stars as Donegal topple Tyrone

 Stephen Griffin helped Donegal to two League points


Leroy Burrell (athletics) - American sprinter who twice broke the 100m world record, born 1967.

Michael Slater (cricket) - former Australia opener who played in 74 Tests before retiring in 2001, born 1970.

Ivan Campo (soccer) - Former Real Madrid, Bolton and Spain defender, born 1974.

Georgios Samaras (soccer) - Former Greece and Celtic international striker, born 1985.

Matthias De Zordo (athletics) - German world javelin champion, born 1988.

Federico Fernandez (soccer) - Newcastle defender, born 1989.

Riyad Mahrez (soccer) - Manchester City and Algeria winger, PFA footballer of the year in 2016, born 1991.

Molla Wague (soccer) - Udinese defender on loan at Nottingham Forest, born 1991.

Phil Jones (soccer) - Manchester United and England defender, born 1992.


1914: UCC racked up a 15-2 tally in their Fitzgibbon semi-final win over UCG.

1958: Duncan Edwards, one of the best-known members of the famous 'Busby Babes' Manchester United team, died in hospital at the age of 21 following the Munich air crash on February 6.

1988: Geet Sethi, playing in the Indian national snooker championship, became the first amateur to register an official maximum 147 break in a tournament.

2004: Wales, Leeds and Juventus great John Charles died, aged 72.

2006: Thierry Henry scored a stunning solo goal to clinch a 1-0 Champions League win for Arsenal away to Real Madrid - the first victory for an English club at the Bernabeu.

2007: The All England Club announced men and women were to receive equal prize money at Wimbledon for the first time.

2009: Stephen Griffin scored five points as Donegal recorded a 0-11 to 0-8 win over Tyrone in Division One.

2012: Manchester City striker Carlos Tevez apologised "sincerely and unreservedly" for his conduct after a long dispute with the club, and accepted a club fine of six weeks' wages for gross misconduct. The move allowed him to revive his City career.

2014: Wayne Rooney signed a new five-and-a-half-year contract at Manchester United.

2015: DCU claimed the Sigerson Cup after an extra-time win over UCC.

2016: Leeds Rhinos lost the World Club Challenge 38-4 to North Queensland Cowboys as Australian clubs completed a whitewash of their Super League counterparts for the second successive year in the World Club Series.

2017: Sutton reserve goalkeeper Wayne Shaw resigned from the club after eating a pie in the dugout during Monday's FA Cup defeat to Arsenal. A bookmaker had offered odds on him to do so.


1. In which sport do Australia and New Zealand compete for the Bledisoe Cup?

2. Who is the Tipperary football manager?

3. Which club won Australia's Big Bash League at the weekend?

4. Which country will host the 2019 African Cup of Nations?

5. Which two NFL teams have won six Super Bowls each?


Today (Thursday, February 21)

SOCCER: Europa League, Valencia v Celtic - BT Sport/ESPN 1715, Chelsea v Malmo - BT Sport 2 1930, Benfica v Galatasaray - BT Sport/ESPN 2015.

CRICKET: Test, South Africa v Sri Lanka - Sky Sports Cricket 0755, Sky Sports Main Event 0800.

RUGBY LEAGUE: Super League, Wakefield v Catalans Dragons - Sky Sports Mix 1900, Sky Sports Arena 1900.

TENNIS: WTA, Dubai Tennis Championships - BT Sport 1 1000 and 1500, Hungarian Open - BT Sport 2 1100, 1530 and 1830.

GOLF: PGA Tour, WGC-Mexico Championship - Sky Sports Main Event 1700 and 2230, Sky Sports Golf 1700 and 1900.

DARTS: Premier League - Sky Sports Main Event 1900, Sky Sports Action 1900.

SNOOKER: Shoot-Out - Eurosport 1 1245 and 1845.

BASKETBALL: NBA, Houston Rockets v Los Angeles Lakers - Sky Sports Main Event 0330 (Fri).

Tomorrow (Friday, February 22)

SOCCER: Premier League, West Ham v Fulham - Sky Sports Main Event 1900, Sky Sports Premier League 1900; Scottish Premiership, Dundee v Hibernian - BT Sport 2 1915; Ligue 1, Strasbourg v Lille - BT Sport/ESPN 1945; Irish Premiership, Crusaders v Glenavon - BBC Two Northern Ireland 1930; A-League, Central Coast Mariners v Brisbane Roar - BT Sport 1 0845, Wellington Phoenix v Sydney FC - BT Sport 1 0430 (Sun).

CRICKET: One-day international, West Indies v England - Sky Sports Main Event 1430 and 2200, Sky Sports Cricket 1430; Test, South Africa v Sri Lanka - Sky Sports Cricket 0755, Sky Sports Main Event 0800.

RUGBY UNION: Gallagher Premiership, Gloucester v Saracens - BT Sport 1 1900; Super Rugby, Highlanders v Reds - Sky Sports Action 0630; PRO14, Leinster v Southern Kings - eir Sport 1 1955.

RUGBY LEAGUE: Super League, St Helens v Leeds - Sky Sports Mix 1900, Sky Sports Arena 1900.

TENNIS: WTA, Dubai Tennis Championships - BT Sport 1 1300, Hungarian Open - BT Sport 2 1200.

GOLF: PGA Tour, WGC-Mexico Championship - Sky Sports Golf 1700.

SNOOKER: Shoot-Out - Eurosport 1 1245 and 1845.

BOXING: Fight Night Live - Sky Sports Action 0100 (Sat), Sky Sports Main Event 0230 (Sat).

MOTORCYCLING: World Superbikes - Eurosport 1 0100 (Sat).

BASKETBALL: NBA, San Antonio Spurs v Toronto Raptors - Sky Sports Main Event 0000 (Sat).

Answers: 1 Rugby union; 2 Liam Kearns; 3 Melbourne Renegades; 4 Egypt; 5 The Pittsburgh Steelers and The New England Patriots.


Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access



Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: