Managers ring the changes ahead of All-Ireland Ladies Football clashes

Dublin players (from left) Kate McKenna, Noelle Healy, and Sinead Aherne after the TG4 Ladies Football All-Ireland Senior Championship semi-final win over Kerry at Semple Stadium in Thurles. Picture by Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Jackie Cahill

DUBLIN manager Mick Bohan has made four changes to the team that started in the TG4 Leinster senior final against Westmeath for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC opener against Cavan in Dunleer (2pm).

The Sky Blues, looking to retain their All-Ireland crown, have drafted in Niamh Collins, Lauren Magee, Carla Rowe and Oonagh Whyte for the Group 4, Round 2 fixture.

Deirdre Murphy, Sinead Goldrick, 2017 Players’ Player of the Year Noelle Healy and Hannah O’Neill started against Westmeath at Dr. Cullen Park in Carlow but are held in reserve on this occasion, as Bohan shuffles his pack.

Following last Saturday’s loss to Mayo, Cavan boss James Daly has named an unchanged team.

On a Saturday when all four senior provincial champions enter the All-Ireland series, Cork boss Ephie Fitzgerald has a couple of superb forward options to call upon off the bench against Monaghan.

Eimear Scally is named among the replacements, as is former underage sensation Saoirse Noonan, who came off the bench to score two goals in a dream senior debut against Kerry in the Munster final.

It’s an unchanged Cork team for the first game in a LIVE TG4 double-header at St Brendan’s Park in Birr (3pm).

Eva Woods and Jane Drury, who both came off the bench in last Saturday’s draw with Armagh in Clones, both earn starts for Monaghan, in what is a repeat of last year’s qualifier between the two counties, who also met in the 2008, 2011 and 2013 All-Ireland deciders.


Ahead of the second game at St Brendan’s Park (4.45pm), Galway manager Stephen Glennon has made just one change to the team that accounted for Mayo in the Connacht final.

Louise Ward was introduced as a sub against Mayo and earns a start for Galway’s clash with Waterford, as Catriona Cormican drops to the bench.

Waterford, who must win after losing to Westmeath last Saturday, have gone with an unchanged team.

And Donegal, many people’s fancy for an All-Ireland title, are unchanged from the team that enjoyed a massive Ulster final win over Armagh.

Opponents Tipperary, who must win after suffering defeat to Kerry last Saturday, bring in Gillian O’Brien for a start, after she scored two points off the bench against the Kingdom.

Saturday July 21

Group 4, Round 2:

Cavan v Dublin; Lannleire GFC, Dunleer, 2pm (B Rice). 

Cavan: E Baugh; R Doonan, G McGlade, J Moore; S Greene, L Fitzpatrick, S O’Sullivan; N Byrd, D English; C Smith, A Maguire, C Dolan; A Sheridan, B Sheridan, C Finnegan.

Dublin: C Trant; M Byrne, S Finnegan, L McGinley; S McGrath, N Collins, L Caffrey; L Magee, O Carey; C Rowe, N McEvoy, L Davey; O Whyte, S Aherne, N Owens.

Group 2, Round 2:

Cork v Monaghan; St Brendan's Park, Birr, 3pm (S McNulty) (LIVE, TG4). 

Cork: M O’Brien; C Collins, R Phelan, M Duggan; M O’Callaghan, S Kelly, E Spillane; A Hutchings, H Looney; C O’Sullivan, L Coppinger, O Farmer; Á O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan, O Finn.

Monaghan: L Martin; J Fitzpatrick, F Courtney, R McKenna; A McAnespie, S Courtney, E Woods; E McKenna, E McAnespie; R Courtney, J Drury, C Courtney; C McAnespie, N Callan, E McCarron.

Group 3, Round 2:

Galway v Waterford; St Brendan's Park, Birr, 4.45pm (S Mulvihill) (LIVE, TG4). 

Galway: L Murphy; F Cooney, S Lynch, S Burke; E Flaherty, N Ward, C Cooney; L Ward, A Davoren; O Divilly, T Leonard, Á McDonagh; M Seoighe, R Leonard, L Coen.

Waterford: K Moroney; M Dunford, C McGrath, R Casey; Kate McGrath, Karen McGrath, M McGrath; E Murray, K Corbett-Barry; M Wall, G Kenneally, K Murray; A Wall, M Delahunty, M Ryan.

Group 1, Round 2:

Donegal v Tipperary; Castlerea, Roscommon, 2pm (G McMahon). 

Donegal: L Gallagher; T Doherty, N McLaughlin, D Foley; T McCafferty, C Hegarty, E Gallagher; K Herron, A McDonald; K Guthrie, N Hegarty, S.J. McDonald; G McLaughlin, Y Bonner, E Ward.

Tipperary: L Fitzpatrick; L Dillon, M Curley, B Condon; A.R. Kennedy, S Lambert, S Condon; A McCarthy, O O’Dwyer; C Condon, A Moloney, N Lonergan; R Howard, M Morrissey, G O’Brien.


Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: