503 Service Unavailable

Service Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.


In The Irish News on Oct 16 1996: 15 Meath and Mayo players summoned to GAA disciplinary hearing

Trevor Giles leads the Meath team on to Croke Park

THE identities of the 15 players notified by the Games Administration Committee to attend Monday’s disciplinary hearing in Dublin have been revealed.

All-Ireland champions Meath have had eight reportedly summoned, Mayo seven, as a result of the GAC’s two-hour viewing of the official video of the final replay violence.

Colm Coyle, sent off in the game, goalkeeper Conor Martin, defenders Darren Fay and Enda McManus, half-forwards Trevor Giles and Graham Geraghty, both midfielders Jimmy McGuinness and John McDermott have been asked to attend the meeting from Meath.

Mayo’s contingent includes sent-off midfielder Liam McHale, team captain Noel Connelly, the entire full-forward line of Anthony Finnerty, John Casey and Ray Dempsey, centre half-forward Colm McMenamon and midfielder David Brady.

A variety of charges arising from the incident, which at one point involved nearly all of the 30 players, are expected to be levelled at those summoned to appear including striking, kicking, bringing the game into disrepute and dangerous play.

KILCOO U16 footballers bridged a 59-year gap of club championship disappointment when they came from behind to beat favourites Ballyholland in the Down final at St Mary’s Park Burren.

In a game of tension, high drama, brilliant football and a nailbiting finish Kilcoo overcame all the odds to bring home a county title to the small parish nestling in the foothills of the mighty Mournes for the first time since a senior final success in 1937.

Best for Kilcoo were James Kane, Sean O’Hanlon and Kevin and Anthony Morgan in defence with Conor Morgan prominent at midfield. In attack Anthony and Noel Devlin and John A McEvoy were the stars.

Declan O’Hanlon, Paul McAteer and Ciaran Murtagh stood out in the Ballyholland defence with Adrian McAteer solid at midfield. In attack Brendan McAteer, Paul McArdle and Paul Murphy were best.

Kilcoo scorers: A Devlin (1-3); N Devlin (0-2); D Grant & S McClean (0-1 each).

Ballyholland scorers: D O’Hanlon, A McAteer, J McAteer, B McAteer, P McAteer, P Murphy, P McArdle, R Murtagh & C Brien (0-1 each). Kilclief 1-10 Ballygalget 1-3.

KILCLIEF caused the biggest upset in years when they beat Ballygalget in the MHC semi-final at Mitchell Park.

Kilclief led by 1-8 to 0-1 at half time. Their goal came from Gerard Magee with Michael Kinsella scoring four points and Dale Curran two. Colin Coulter had the Ballygalget point. Ballygalget hit back early in the second half with points from Brian Savage and Rory Crawford and a goal from Kenneth Bell.

A brilliant save by Johnny Hanvey in the Kilclief goals denied Ballygalget a certain score. Thereafter Kilclief took control again with points from Stephen Magee and Niall Hynds for a shock but deserved win. Kilclief scorers: G Magee (1-0); M Kinsella (0-4); D Curran & S Magee (0-2 each); M Craig & N Hynds (0-1 each). Ballyholland scorers: K Bell (1-0); R Crawford, B Savage & C Coulter (0-1 each)

A FOOTBALLER from Tyrone club Aghaloo whose injury forced him out of the game this season, will exchange his football boots for running shoes later this month.

Padraig Muldoon, Aghaloo’s senior player of the year last season, has been sidelined due to a hand injury he sustained while playing football.

But he has kept himself in shape and is participating in the Dublin city marathon on Monday October 28 to raise money for the club.

Padraig, who has been a regular in the red and black colours of the club for 14 years, has pledged all sponsorship towards the cost of erecting protective netting behind each goal with surplus monies going towards the purchase of other much needed fixtures.

SOUTH-WEST Antrim U14 footballers will have a match for fringe and new players on Saturday morning against Ballymaguigan at Toomebridge.

Players are asked to assemble at Toombridge half an hour before throw-in.

M Kennedy, C McCorley, P O’Hagan, A McKeefrey, K Bradley, J McShane, P O’Boyle, R O’Hagan, J Breen, O Kearney, P McKeown, Conor O’Boyle, M McCorley, J Campbell, A Savage; D Higgins, G Carey, J Johnston, G Johnston, J Robb, D McStocker, D McKeever

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

503 Service Unavailable

Service Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.