First blood to Clare as they depose champions Waterford

Clare's Padraic Collins comes under pressure from Waterford's Tom Devine during Sunday's NHL Division One final replay at Semple Stadium, Thurles
Picture by Seamus Loughran 

National Hurling League Division One final replay: Clare 1-23 Waterford 2-19 

CLARE are the National Hurling League champions after they won a thrilling replay against Waterford at Semple Stadium on Sunday.

Tony Kelly scored two late points in Thurles to secure the Banner their first National League title since 1978. Deposed champions Waterford will now be focusing firmly on the sides' upcoming Munster Championship meeting after they let a three-point lead slip as a result of four unaswered Clare points. 

Patrick Curran excelled for the Déise in front of a crowd of over 14,000, hitting 1-9 in total. However, it proved not to be enough as 2013 hurler of the year Kelly, Colin Ryan and Darach Honan spearheaded a late Clare comeback.



Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: