Robbie White named Down's Division One Player of the Year

Ballyholland's Robbie White was named Down Division One's Player of the Year on Friday night  
Pádraig Kelly

BALLYHOLAND defender Robbie White had his superb season for the Harps acknowledged at Friday’s O'Reilly Transport Ireland Club Down Allstar Awards.

White was consistently excellent at centre half-back, displaying great positional awareness and attacking intent as Ballyholland reached both the league and championship semi-finals. As a result, he picked up the Division One Player of the Year award.

The Division Two award went to Loughinisland midfielder Dan Gordon, who enjoyed one of his finest seasons in blue. Whether it was at centre half-back or midfield, few could prevent Gordon running games and new Down boss Éamonn Burns will surely have taken note.

Glasdrumman swept all before them in Division Three and in the Junior Championship, winning every single game. Their full-forward Connaire Harrison scored goals for fun all year and that was enough to earn him a recall to the county scene, as well as the Division Three award.

The Spirit of Breen Morgan Award, for the player that excelled the most in Down colours, went to tenacious defender Darren O’Hagan.



Team of the Year: Steven Kane (Kilcoo); Aaron Branagan (Kilcoo), Gerard McGovern (Burren), Daryl Branagan (Kilcoo); Conor Doyle (An Ríocht), Robbie White (Ballyholland), Daniel Morgan (Castlewellan); Dan Gordon (Loughinisland), Paul Greenan (Kilcoo); Shay Millar (Glenn), Aidan Burns (Castlewellan), Ryan Johnston (Kilcoo); Rory Mason (Loughinisland), Connaire Harrison (Glasdrumman), Jerome Johnston (Kilcoo)

Division One Player of the Year: Robbie White

Division Two Player of the Year: Dan Gordon

Division Three Player of the Year: Connaire Harrison

Spirit of Breen Morgan Award: Darren O’Hagan


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: