England batsman Eoin Morgan (right) has signed with Sydney Thunder for this winter's Big Bash League in Australia.

Dublin-born Morgan was not selected in England's Ashes squad and will be available for the Thunder's first four games before joining up with Ashley Giles' limited overs squad. Morgan will team with Australia opener David Warner and Mike Hussey in the Thunder squad. "I am really excited about getting the opportunity to join the Sydney Thunder for this season's Big Bash," said the former Ireland batsman. "I have been a big admirer of the tournament and I'm looking forward to getting a chance to play in it and represent the Thunder."


World number two Mark Selby suffered an early exit at the inaugural Indian Open in New Delhi yesterday.

Selby was unable to get past the second round as Mark Williams secured a 4-1 win to book himself a last-16 clash with local surprise packet Aditya Mehta.

Mehta beat Marcus Campbell 4-1 in the first round and recorded the same scoreline to oust Hammad Miah and ensure he remained alive in the first rankings tournament to be held in his native India.

While Selby was a notable casualty the tournament still boasts most of its major names after world number one Neil Robertson, Ding Junhui, Stephen Maguire and John Higgins all won through. Robertson cast aside Rod Lawler 4-2 and will next meet Liang Wenbo in today's midday session. Former world champion Higgins will meet Ding in the pick of the morning session matches after whitewashing Li Yan 4-0 while Ding beat Mark Joyce 4-3 in their second-round ties. Maguire edged past Tom Ford 4-3 and will play Mark Davis for a place in tonight's quarter-finals. n Scoreboard P61


Republic of Ireland U17 head coach Tom Mohan has announced his squad for the forthcoming Uefa U17 Championships qualifying round group seven mini-tournament in Armenia. Mohan has handed first time call-ups to Cherry Orchard defender Maxime Kouogun, Shamrock Rovers midfielder Thomas Tiernan and Millwall winger Alex Mulrooney-Skinner.

Ireland meet Gibraltar in that nation's first ever competitive U17 international next Thursday, October 24, then meet hosts Armenia on Saturday, October 26, before finishing against England on Tuesday, October 29.

Republic Of Ireland U17 squad: James Talbot (Sunderland), Colin McCabe (Celtic), Nathan Benson (Crumlin United), Anto Breslin (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Dan Casey (Sunderland), Corey Whelan (Liverpool), Danny Kane (Huddersfield Town), Maxime Kouogun (Cherry Orchard FC), Robert Duggan (Peterborough United), Georgie Poynton (Dundalk FC), Tom Holland (Manchester City), Thomas Tiernan (Shamrock Rovers), Nathan Corkery (QPR), Shane Elworthy (Fulham), Steven Kinsella (Templeogue United), Alex Mulrooney-Skinner (Millwall), Jessie Devers (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Cemal Ramadan (Ipswich Town)


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.