Brian Feeney: Resignation of Labour MPs has only produced an unwanted distraction

Labour MPs (left to right) Chris Leslie, Mike Gapes, Ann Coffey, Luciana Berger, Angela Smith, Chuka Umunna and Gavin Shuker announce their resignations during a press conference at County Hall in Westminster, to create a new Independent Group in the House of Commons 
It had been predicted for a long time, but when it finally happened on Monday only seven MPs left the Labour party and none of them a household name. People have been comparing the split to the SDP in[...]

It's time to subscribe and see everything


Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: