Iconic clock removed from Bank Buildings almost four months after Primark fire
A LANDMARK clock which has towered over Belfast city centre for more than 200 years was yesterday removed from its permanent home on top of Bank Buildings - almost four months after a blaze destroyed the Primark store.
Construction workers carrying out ongoing work at the site could be seen removing the clock from on top of the shell of the building.
The Primark shop, located in Bank Buildings on Royal Avenue, was left gutted on August 28 when a massive fire ripped through the department store.
It is not known if the clock was damaged or how badly.
- William Scholes: The mystery of Christmas and the appeal of Primark(Premium)
- Christmas spirit finally arrives in Belfast - thanks to Primark
- Walkway opens up Belfast city centre for first time since Primark fire
Originally used as a bank, the building was erected in 1785 and it is thought the clock was an original fixture.
Construction workers have also been removing parts of the building and laying the pieces along the road in Royal Avenue as they continue to assess the damage.
A multi-million pound extension of the building at Commonwealth House in Castle Street was opened to the public last weekend.
Around 1,000 shoppers braved the cold to queue from the early hours to be the first into the new Primark store and snap up the brand's famous bargains.
A second Primark store in Belfast is due to open at Fountain House at Donegall Place in the Spring.