Northern Ireland news

Game of Thrones characters to feature on new stamps

A set of 15 first class Game of Thrones stamps, featuring characters including Jon Snow, will be available to buy from January 23. Picture by Royal Mail, Press Association
Sam Baker, Press Association

POPULAR fantasy series Game of Thrones is to be celebrated via a new set of stamps.

Daenerys Targaryen, Jon Snow and Arya Stark are among characters that will feature on a set of 15 first class stamps, Royal Mail has announced.

All eight series of the series have been mainly filmed in Northern Ireland, including at the Dark Hedges in Co Antrim and Castle Ward in Co Down.

A total of 10 main protagonists from the hit HBO fantasy programme, based on the books by George RR Martin, will feature in the set that goes on sale later this month.

As well as the characters played by Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington and Maisie Williams, the roll-call of characters from Westeros also includes Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey), Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner), Tywin Lannister (Charles Dance), Eddard Stark (Sean Bean), Olenna Tyrell (Dame Diana Rigg), Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage), and Jaime Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau).

There is also a five-stamp sheet featuring images of the Night King and his undead White Walkers, giants, direwolves and dragons, and the Iron Throne.

The collection's release comes ahead of the eighth and final series, which is currently in production.

Fans can pre-order stamps now from the Royal Mail website and buy them from January 23 at Post Office branches or by calling Royal Mail's customer service line on 0345 774 0740.

One of the Game of Thrones stamps featuring the Night King and White Walkers

 Daenerys Targaryen has her own stamp

Cersei Lannister, one of the Game of Thrones characters to feature on a new set of stamps. Picture by Royal Mail, Press Association

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Northern Ireland news

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: