Subscribe Now

More than 70 people in Northern Ireland receive honours for 2013 Judge, mayor and footballer on new year's honours list

Published 29/12/2012

■ CBE: Jessica Ennis

Simon Doyle

A SENIOR judge, a school inspector and a midwife are among more than 70 people from Northern Ireland named on the latest royal honours list.

Heading the list are High Court judge Tom Burgess, respiratory medicine authority Professor Joseph Elborn and Eileen Evason, an expert on poverty and social security, who have all been given a CBE.

But while the cast of new year's honours in Britain includes Olympic medallists and celebrities, most of the recipients in Northern Ireland are not household names.

There are no knighthoods and the only sportsperson to make the cut was Belfast-born Pat Rice. The former footballer, who played for Northern Ireland and Arsenal and latterly went on to assist Arsene Wenger coaching at the Gunners before announcing his retirement early this year, will receive an MBE.

Numerous awards have instead been bestowed on those working in voluntary and local services. They include an OBE for Jenny Cooke, chief executive of Music Theatre 4 Youth.

Georgina Dickson (90) was honoured for her charitable fundraising.

Former mayor of Armagh Sylvia McRoberts received an MBE for services to the community and local government.

In health, former Chief Nursing Officer Martin Bradley received an OBE while Maureen Clarke, founder of the ovarian cancer support centre Angels of Hope, was awarded the MBE.

In education, the chairman of Lagan College's board of gover- nors, Ian McMorris, South Eastern Regional College teacher tutor Barbara Judge and James Clarke, banqueting operations coordinator at Queen's University, are among MBE recipients.

There are also MBEs for those working with the security services. They include David Bradley of the Prison Service and PSNI superintendent Sam Cordner.

John Brannigan, lately director of investigations with the Historical Enquiries Team, also receives an MBE.

There are three CBEs, nine OBEs and 39 MBEs among the 71 awards in Northern Ireland.

In addition, the Order of the Bath has been bestowed on Oswyn Paulin, head of the government legal service at the Northern Ireland Executive.

The British Empire Medal (BEM) was awarded to 16 people. The list includes Lindsay Hanna, chairman of Laurelbank Carriage Driving for Disabled Group, Ethel McIvor from Lollipop Playgroup in Donaghmore and Maureen Neely, administrator of Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry.

Three Queen's Police Medals have also been awarded.