301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.

Assembly Election

Northern Ireland Assembly - who has been elected so far

Digital Team
04 March, 2017 01:06

The DUP's Nelson McCausland and Maurice Morrow, Ulster Unionist Joanne Dobson, SDLP's Alex Attwood and UUP's Danny Kennedy among the high-profile casualties to lose seats in yesterday's election.

Mr McCausland failed to be re-elected in North Belfast while Mrs Dobson was eliminated from Upper Bann 

Mr Attwood lost his seat in west Belfast and Mr Kennedy was eliminated in Newry & Armagh.

The DUP's Maurice Morrow was defeated in Fermanagh & South Tyrone.

Sinn Fein's Orlaithi Flynn was the first candidate over the line today, topping the poll in the republican heartland of west Belfast.

Soon after, her party leader Michelle O'Neill strolled through on the first count in Mid Ulster.

Former Democratic Unionist communities minister Paul Givan was elected in Lagan Valley while Sinn Fein's former economy minister Mairtin O Muilleoir also secured his return to the Assembly chamber, romping home in south Belfast.

Here's who has been elected so far:

South Antrim

Declan Kearney SF

Stephen Aiken UUP

David Ford Alliance

Paul Girvan DUP

Pam Cameron DUP

Fermanagh/South Tyrone

Arlene Foster DUP

Michelle Gildernew SF

Jemma Dolan SF

Rosemary Barton UUP

Sean Lynch SF

Upper Bann

Carla Lockhart DUP

Jonathan Buckley DUP

John O'Dowd SF

Doug Beattie


Colum Eastwood SDLP

Elisha McCallion SF

Raymond McCartney SF

Mark H Durkan SDLP

Gary Middleton DUP

North Down

Gordon Dunne DUP

Alan Chambers UUP

Alex Easton DUP

Stephen Farry Alliance

Steven Agnew Green Party

North Antrim

Philip McGuigan SF

Robin Swann UUP

Jim Allister TUV

Mervyn Storey DUP

Paul Frew DUP

West Tyrone

Thomas Buchanan DUP

Michaela Boyle  SF

Barry McElduff  SF

Declan McAleer SF

Daniel McCrossan SF

East Antrim

David Hilditch DUP

Roy Beggs  UUP

Stewart Dickson  Alliance

Gordon Lyons DUP

John Stewart UUP

East Derry

Claire Sugden Ind

Maurice Bradley DUP

George Robinson DUP

Caoimhe Archibald SF

John Dallat SDLP

South Down

Sinéad Ennis SF

Chris Hazzard SF

Sinéad Bradley SDLP

Jim Wells DUP

Colin McGrath SDLP

Newry and Armagh

William Irwin DUP

Cathal Boylan SF

Megan Fearon SF

Justin McNulty SDLP

Conor Murphy (Sinn Féin)

Lagan Valley

Paul Givan DUP

Trevor Lunn Alliance

Robbie Butler UUP

Pat Catney SDLP

Edwin Poots DUP

East Belfast

Naomi Long Alliance

Chris Lyttle Alliance

Andy Allen UUP

Joanne Bunting DUP

Robin Newton DUP

Mid Ulster

Michelle O'Neill SF

Keith Buchanan DUP

Linda Dillon SF

Ian Milne SF

South Belfast

Máirtín Ó Muilleoir Sinn Féin

Paula Bradshaw Alliance

Claire Hanna SDLP

Christopher Stalford DUP

West Belfast

Órlaithí Flynn Sinn Féin

Gerry Carroll  People Before Profit

Alex Maskey  Sinn Féin

Fra McCann Sinn Féin

Pat Sheehan Sinn Féin


Kellie Armstrong -Alliance

Simon Hamilton  DUP

Michelle McIveen DUP

Mike Nesbitt UUP

Peter Weir DUP

North Belfast

Paula Bradley DUP

William Humphrey DUP

Nichola Mallon SDLP

Gerry Kelly SF

Carál Ní Chuilín SF

Earlier, the turnout was confirmed as the north's highest since the year of the Good Friday peace agreement in 1998.

Almost two thirds of the electorate voted in Thursday's poll - with the future of powersharing hanging in the balance.

The number taking to the ballot boxes swelled to 64.78%, 10% higher than last year's Stormont poll.

A total of 812,783 votes were cast.

The snap Stormont Assembly election was called following January's collapse of the ministerial coalition with the DUP and Sinn Fein at its helm in a row over a botched green energy scheme.

Soaring viewing figures for the two main TV leaders' debates had hinted at a surge in voter engagement, something borne out on polling day.

In the first Assembly election after devolution began, in June 1998, 69.88% of voters turned out.

It came just months after the Belfast Agreement, which largely ended the 30-year conflict.

Some of the 18 constituency counts are set to extend into Saturday.

A total of 228 candidates are vying for the 90 seats in Stormont's slimmed-down devolved legislature.

The Assembly poll was the second in 10 months.

If the DUP and Sinn Fein are again returned as the main players, they will have three weeks to resolve their multiple differences and form a new administration.

The reimposition of direct rule from London is on the cards if the post-election talks fail.

If the three-week post-election deadline passes, Northern Ireland Secretary James Brokenshire is legally obliged to call yet another election.

However, in those circumstances, the Government may pass emergency legislation to suspend devolution for the first time in 10 years ahead of more lengthy negotiations.

Northern Ireland uses the single transferable vote (STV) proportional representation electoral system.

Follow the election results on our LIVE HUB.

04 March, 2017 01:06 Assembly Election

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.