Assembly Election

DUP reigns again in South Antrim

Paul Girvan of the DUP tops the polls in South Antrim. Picture by Matt Bohill
Gareth McKeown

The DUP were the big winners in South Antrim as their three candidates were returned with some ease on Friday night.

Paul Girvan topped the poll with 5,014 votes, missing the quota by six votes and was followed by Pamela Cameron at the fifth count and finally Trevor Clarke got over the line late into the night.

“We have balanced the vote as well as possible and our transfers did work. To all intents and purposes it was very good,” said Mr Girvan.

The big story though was the anxious wait for Alliance Party leader David Ford.

As the man himself said the nervous waits for election are nothing new.

“I think it’s much the same as I tend to get every time”.

Earlier in the day Mr Ford had described himself as “transfer friendly” and once again it was proved accurate as at stage seven he and Sinn Fein’s Declan Kearney gained their seats, with the SDLP's Roisin Lynch bowing out. Remarkably it is Mr Ford's fifth time elected to office.

After that it was a straight fight between three candidates for the remaining two seats, with UUP men Steve Aiken and Paul Michael battling with the DUP’s Trevor Clarke for election.

When the news broke on the floor of the news that Mr Michael would be the one who missed out his two adversaries offered their commiserations on a night where the DUP once again reigned in South Antrim.

Elected: Paul Girvan (DUP), Pam Cameron (DUP), Declan Kearney (SF), David Ford (Alliance), Steve Aiken (UUP) and Trevor Clarke (DUP).

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access