Irish News nominated for raft of awards

The Irish News' page one report on the death of Ian Paisley, shortlisted for front page of the year 

THE Irish News has received a raft of nominations in the north's annual media awards, including newspaper of the year and front page of the year.

The CIPR awards "acknowledge the outstanding work of media professionals in Northern Ireland" and are in their 22nd year.

The nominations come across 12 categories and nine Irish News journalists have been recognised for their work.

The sports department has two nods, with Brendan Crossan in the running for sports journalist of the year and the `All-Ireland Senior Championship' defending its title of supplement of the year.

Health correspondent Seanín Graham has been nominated in the specialist journalist category, while John Manley is shortlisted for both newspaper journalist of the year and scoop of the year.

Bimpe Archer and Allison Morris have both been nominated for columnist of the year, a title won by the latter in 2014, while Aeneas Bonner is shortlisted in the feature journalist category.

Mal McCann and Margaret McLaughlin are also in the frame for photographer of the year, while Brendan Hughes is a contender for newcomer of the year.

The winners of the Coca-Cola CIPR NI Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony on June 26 at Belfast's MAC Theatre.


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: