301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.


Stormzy, James Norton and Liam Gallagher among winners at GQ Men of the Year

A host of big names from the world of entertainment, politics and more gathered for the annual awards ceremony.

Jeremy Corbyn has presented grime star Stormzy with the best solo artist prize at the GQ Men of the Year awards.

The rapper was one of a string of grime artists who shared their love for the Labour leader ahead of the general election earlier this year.

Mr Corbyn handed over the prize at the star-studded ceremony at the Tate Modern, where Star Wars actor Mark Hamill was presented with the Icon prize by Simon Pegg and Brazil footballer Pele was given the Inspiration award by Gareth Southgate.

Stormzy performs on the Supervene Stage during the V Festival
Stormzy performing during the V Festival (PA)

Sir Geoff Hurst, who scored a hat-trick in the 1966 World Cup final, was handed the Legend prize.

One Direction star Zayn Malik was named most stylish man at the awards, but his gong was collected by model Selah Marley.

Adwoa Aboah, the model he starred opposite in a fashion campaign for Versus, was named woman of the year.

The editor’s special award was given to retro Netflix drama Stranger Things, while Suicide Squad star Jared Leto was named actor of the year.

Jared Leto arrives at the MTV Video Music Awards
Jared Leto arrives at the MTV Video Music Awards (Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP)

Happy Valley’s James Norton was crowned breakthrough actor, while the stars of The Grand Tour, Jeremy Clarkson, James May and Richard Hammond, were announced as the TV personalities award winners. Former Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher was named rock ‘n’ roll star.

The Trip stars Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon were given the comedians of the year prize as Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds were handed the band of the year gong by Courtney Love, and Kurupt FM were named best garage act.

Nick Cave
Nick Cave arriving at The EE British Academy Film Awards 2015 (PA)

Ukrainian ballet dancer Sergei Polunin was given the creative maverick prize and Chelsea head coach Antonio Conte was given the special achievement award.

Burberry’s Christopher Bailey was named designer of the year, while Grace Wales Bonner was named breakthrough designer.

London Mayor Sadiq Khan was given the politician of the year gong by musician Tinie Tempah, while boxer Anthony Joshua was handed the sportsman gong by actor Idris Elba.

German photographer Wolfgang Tillmans was named artist of the year.

Other stars handing out prizes at the ceremony included Rita Ora, Gordon Ramsay, Jaden Smith, David Walliams.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.