Here are the top 10 general election victories that were won with the smallest margins

One seat was won by just two votes.

While some MPs gained their seats in Parliament with sheer majorities, other parties celebrated victories that were won with the smallest margins.

In many cases, several recounts were required in order to confirm the results of the swing seats.

Here are the closest victories won in the General Election 2017.

Kensington constituency has not yet announced its results due to numerous recounts, though it is expected to do so before Friday evening.

1. Fife North East

Two votes

Stephen Gethins

Exhausted after that marathon but want to say a huge thank you to everyone that put their trust in me again. I am honoured that I can continue the job already started in North East Fife. My amazing…

The SNP’s Stephen Gethins fought off the Lib Dems’ Elizabeth Riches to hold on to his seat with just two votes.

2. Perth and Perthshire North

21 votes

Similarly, the SNP’s Pete Wishart held on to his seat by just 21 votes, with Tory MEP Ian Duncan coming close to ousting him.

3. Dudley North

22 votes

Labour’s Ian Austin kept his seat by the skin of his teeth, earning 22 votes more than Tory rival Les Jones.

4. Newcastle-under-Lyme

30 votes

Labour’s Paul Farrelly fended off the Tories’ Owen Meredith with a majority of just 30 votes.

5. Southampton Itchen

31 votes

Thank you to every single one of the 21,773 …

Thank you to every single one of the 21,773 people who voted for me in yesterday’s election. I will continue to work on behalf of all of my constituents, and once again thank you.

The Conservatives’ Royston Smith managed to protect his seat from Labour’s Simon Letts with a slender victory of 31 ones.

6. Richmond Park

45 votes

The Tories’ Zac Goldsmith stole his seat back off Lib Dem Sarah Olney after making a comeback with 45 votes.

7. Crewe and Nantwich

48 votes

Labour’s Laura Smith ousted former Tory minister Edward Timpson from the seat he had held since 2008, with 48 votes.

8. Glasgow South West

60 votes

The SNP’s Chris Stephens retained the seat his party gained from Labour in the last general election, a 60-vote majority over Labour’s Matt Kerr.

9. Glasgow East

75 votes

The SNP’s David Linden retained his seat with just 75 votes over Labour’s Kate Watson.

10. Arfon

92 votes

Plaid Cymru’s Hywel Williams clung on to his seat despite competition from Labour’s Mary Griffiths Clarke with 92 votes.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access