TV and Radio

Mrs Brown's Boys beats Derry Girls and Fleabag to NTA award

Brendan O'Carroll, Josh Cole, Jennifer Gibney and cast members, accepting the Comedy award for Mrs Brown's Boys in the press room during the National Television Awards at London's O2 Arena. Picture by Ian West, Press Association

LONG-RUNNING comedy Mrs Brown's Boys beat Derry Girls and Fleabag at last night's National Television Awards.

Creator Brendan O'Carroll accepted the prize for best comedy in a surprise win over the Golden Globe-winning Fleabag.

Mrs Brown's Boys won the same award for three consecutive years in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

Little Mix star Jesy Nelson and Peaky Blinders were among the early winners on the night.

Nelson won the best factual entertainment award for her Odd One Out documentary, about the abuse which drove her to attempt suicide.

She thanked the BBC and her boyfriend, former Love Island contestant Chris Hughes.

The Great British Bake Off won the prize for best challenge show, beating Love Island and The Apprentice.

Judge Paul Hollywood said the award was "testament to the team", before paying tribute to last year's contestants.

Peaky Blinders won the best drama award. The show's creator Steven Knight paid tribute to the BBC, saying the show "could not have happened anywhere else".

Coronation Street star Katie McGlynn took home the award for best serial drama performance for her turn as cancer sufferer Sinead Tinker.

She thanked the "big bosses" at Coronation Street, before paying tribute to her late grandfather.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 to get full access

TV and Radio