New members elected to IoD committee

IoD NI chairman Gordon Milligan (third left) with newly elected members (from left) Barry Byrne, Kathryn Thomson and Paul Stapleton

THE Institute of Directors has elected four new members, drawn from across the private and public sectors, to its Northern Ireland committee.

Joining the committee are Paul Stapleton, managing director of NIE Networks; Barry Byrne, managing director at Mount Charles; Natasha Sayee, senior lead public affairs specialist at System Operator for Northern Ireland (SONI), and Kathryn Thomson, National Museums Northern Ireland chief executive.

The Northern Ireland committee is made up of 14 elected members, each of whom serves a minimum term of three years.

The committee, which meets four times a year, aims to reflect the broad spectrum of the IoD's membership which comprises 950 directors from organisations across Northern Ireland.

IoD NI chairman Gordon Milligan said: “Each of our newly elected members brings with them a wealth of experience in senior business roles and will significantly boost representation on the committee across key sectors.

“Their input will be invaluable in helping to fulfil the committee's important role of guiding the IoD as an organisation as we seek to support leaders across the economy in their efforts to improve corporate governance and secure better business outcomes.

“The coming year will be a hugely significant one for the region as we continue to prepare to leave the European Union. I look forward to working alongside the committee as we continue to engage with members in the months leading up to Brexit and beyond."

He added: “Amid uncertain times, we aim to provide a strong voice for the business community as we move towards our common goal of seeing agreement on post-Brexit trading arrangements that will allow Northern Ireland to prosper for the benefit of all.”

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: