More Arts news

New movies: Insidious: The Last Key and A Woman's Life

IN 2010, James Wan, director of the opening instalment of the Saw franchise, helmed the spooky horror Insidious, which introduced audiences to parapsychologist Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye), who has devoted her life to investigating supernatural disturbances and vanquishing unspeakable evil that threaten the lives of innocent families.

Gig guide: Live music for the week ahead

David Roy
Today Robyn G Shiels, Reevah, Joel Harkin etc – The Empire, Belfast Ibibio Sound Machine – The Black Box, Belfast Saturday January 6 The 4 of Us – The Black Box, Belfast, 2pm DJ Yoda – Stranger Things Mixtape, The Black Box, Belfast Monday January 8 Unyielding Love, No Great Loss, Nolan – The Menagerie, Belfast Friday January 12 Booka Brass Band – The Black Box, Belfast Ports, Paddy Nash, Paul Casey – Millennium Forum, Derry Saturday January 13 The Irish Video Game Orchestra – The Black Box, Belfast, 2pm Wolfgang Flür – The Black Box, Belfast Sunday January 14 Nuala Kennedy – The Black Box, Belfast, 3pm Monday January 15 Motionless In White, Ice Nine Kills – Mandela Hall, QUBSU, Belfast Wednesday January 17 God Mother, Ilenkus – Voodoo, Belfast Saffyre – The Black Box, 3pm Thursday January 18 Bernadette Morris – Duke of York, Belfast Friday January 19 Steel Panther – The Limelight, Belfast Three Trapped Tigers, Blue Whale, Wasps – The Empire, Belfast Brand New Friend – Duke of York, Belfast Escape The Fate, Set to Stun, Shields UK – Oh Yeah, Belfast Amy McAllister – The Black Box, Belfast, 1pm GoGo Penguin – The Black Box, Belfast Saturday January 20 The Adventures – The Empire, Belfast Dave Arcari – The Black Box, Belfast, 2pm Yola Carter – The Black Box, Belfast Wednesday January 24 Lau – The Black Box, Belfast Thursday January 25 Public Service Broadcasting – The Limelight, Belfast Hayes Carll – Oh Yeah, Belfast Le Vent Du Nord – The Black Box, Belfast Friday January 26 Malojian, Steph Cameron – Duncairn Arts Centre, Belfast Shirley Collins – The Black Box, Belfast The Oh Hellos, Sound of The Sirens – The Empire, Belfast Saturday January 27 Moon Duo, Documenta – The Black Box, Belfast Hazel O'Connor, Cormac De Barra – The Black Box, Belfast (2pm) The Spitfires – Voodoo, Belfast Sunday January 28 Willy Vlautin & David Murphy – Crescent Arts Centre, Belfast Frank Carter and The Rattlesnakes – Mandela Hall, QUBSU, Belfast Kaia Kater – The Black Box, Belfast (2pm) Monday January 29 The Menzingers, Pup, Cayetana – The Limelight 2, Belfast .

The biggest movies of 2018

MARY Poppins, Lara Croft and Han Solo are among the famous characters due to return to the big screen in 2018.

New to download, stream or buy on DVD/Blu-ray

:: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency – Series 2 (10 episodes, streaming from January 5 exclusively on Netflix, Comedy/Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Drama/Romance) SAMUEL Barnett reprises his role as the eponymous quirky crime-fighter in the concluding 10 episodes of the fantastical comedy adapted from the novels by Douglas Adams.

Today's horoscope

Horoscope


See a different horoscope: